Post Format

Protein rich morning pudding with a green detox smoothie

Leave a Reply

I am crazy about morning puddings, and ever since I discovered the overnight oats I have been making them so many times! The rich and creamy texture feels like heaven in my mouth. After yesterdays dinner, I had some quinoa leftovers, so I decided to make a little experiment where I soaked them in almond milk( just like the overnight oats) and mixed them with some shia seeds. I left the bowl in the fridge overnights, which really gave the quinoa such a sweet almond flavor, and mixed it with shia seeds which gives it this pudding-like consistency, so delicious! It’s definitely not the last time I’m making this mix! It is also a super easy way to eat a nutritious filling breakfast when you are on the run in the mornings. Luckily for me, I had plenty of time this morning, so I decided to combine my morning pudding with a green detox smoothie on the side.

The quinoa, banana and shia seeds are the key ingredients that makes this pudding so filling. Quinoa is an awesome grain and one of the most protein-rich foods on earth, as it is a complete protein and contains all nine essential amino acids (Proteins). That’s why it makes you feel full for longer than any other grain and is less “energy dense” which means it has fever calories for the same volume of food. Besides that, it is full of fibers which lowers cholesterol and glucose levels. Its high levels of minerals such as iron and magnesium keeps our red blood cells healthy and promotes healthy blood sugar control. Especially if you are a vegetarian or a vegan I can’t recommend this grain enough! You can easily use it as a rice substitute or as a protein base in many recipes. Shia seeds are a great omega3 source, calcium and manganese and has plenty of proteins and fiber, and the banana is full of calcium, potassium, they reduce swelling, strengthen the nervous system, regulates blood sugar and help with the production of white blood cells due to its high levels of vitamin B6. Gotta love the nana! Besides topping the pudding with banana I added some almonds and almond butter to get my healthy fats, and also because I love the banana-almond combination! At last, I added some bee pollen which has antibiotic properties and regulates intestines among other, and is very rich in VitaminB and free amino acids, and some raw cocoa powder full of antioxidants, healthy fats and minerals. Yummmm is all I can say!

Ingredients

A glass of cooked quinoa

Two teaspoon shia seeds

Plenty of almond milk to soak the quinoa and shia ( keep in mind that the shia will absorb the liquid so don’t be afraid to use a bit more milk.

Some almonds

One tablespoon almond butter

One banana

One teaspoon raw cocoa powder

Two teaspoons of bee pollen

Mix the shia and quinoa with almond milk and leave it in the fridge for the night. Top it with sliced banana, almonds, almond butter and bee pollen.

Combine it with a green super-detox hydrating smoothie( spinach, cucumber, lemon and coconut water) if you like.

Hope you like it!

-Natalie

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

